# 0668061

York Mystery Plays

A Selection in Modern Spelling

Εκδότης: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199552535
Σειρά βιβλίου: Oxford World's Classics
Αριθμός Σελίδων: 320
Διαστάσεις: 20x2x13
Ημερομηνία 1ης Έκδοσης: 2009
Έτος Έκδοσης: 2009

Σύνοψη του βιβλίου "York Mystery Plays"

This volume offers 22 of the central pageants which make up York's famous Corpus Christi cycle. The York cycle is the oldest and best-known of the English mystery cycles, and its depth and scope are reflected in the selection printed here. The shape of the cycle was governed by subject matter of enduring spiritual significance, both to its contemporary audience and in later literary and artistic tradition, and the selection reflects these concerns. Included are plays on the Creation, the Fall of Man, the Incarnation, Passion, and Resurrection of Christ, and the Last Judgement. The Passion sequence has been expanded by six of the eight plays generally attributed to the great poetic dramatist known as the York Realist: the authentic text of these plays is not otherwise available in paperback. As well as providing detailed annotation, this edition offers an introduction which examines the history of the cycle and discusses the immensely popular modern productions in York and elsewhere. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

Σειρά βιβλίου: Oxford World's Classics
ISBN: 9780199552535
Ημερ/νία έκδοσης: 25/06/2009
Εκδότης: Oxford University Press
Εξώφυλλο: Paperback / softback
Σελίδες: 320
Συντελεστές: Edited by: Richard Beadle University Lecturer in English and Fellow University Lecturer in English and Fellow, St John's College, Cambridge, Edited by: Pamela M. King Head of Department of English Head of Department of English, St Martins College, Lancaster
Τόπος έκδοσης: Oxford
Χώρα έκδοσης: United Kingdom
Βάρος βιβλίου: 239 gr
Διαστάσεις βιβλίου: 20x2x13 cm
Λεπτομέρειες εικονογράφησης: map
Ημερομηνία πρώτης έκδοσης: 2009


The Barkers - The Fall of Angels ; The Coopers - The Fall of Man ; The Shipwrights - The Building of the Ark ; The Fishers and Mariners - The Flood ; The Hosiers - Moses and Pharaoh ; The Pewterers and Founders - Joseph's Trouble about Mary ; The Tilethatchers - The Nativity ; The Masons; The Goldsmiths - Herod and The Magi ; The Marshals - The Flight into Egypt ; The Girdlers and Nailers - The Slaughter of the Innocents ; The Smiths - The Temptation ; The Skinners - The Entry into Jerusalem ; The Cutlers - The Conspiricy ; The Bowers and Fletchers - Christ before Annas and Caiaphas ; The Tapiters and Couchers - Christ before Pilate ; The Litsters - Christ before Herod ; The Tilemakers - Christ before Pilate (2) ; The Pinners - The Crucifixion ; The Butchers - The Death of Christ ; The Saddlers - The Harrowing of Hell ; The Carpenters - The Resurrection ; The Mercers - The Last Judgement

εναλλακτικά δες...

συνδύασέ το με...

υπηρεσίες πριν και μετά την αγορά!