# 0740112

The Taste of Ashes


Συγγραφέας: Shore Marci
Εκδότης: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780434022304
Αριθμός Σελίδων: 384
Διαστάσεις: 24x4x16
Ημερομηνία 1ης Έκδοσης: 2013
Έτος Έκδοσης: 2013

Σύνοψη του βιβλίου "The Taste of Ashes"

In the tradition of Timothy Garton Ash's "The File", Yale historian and prize-winning author Marci Shore draws upon intimate understanding to illuminate the afterlife of totalitarianism. "The Taste of Ashes" spans from Berlin to Moscow, moving from Vienna in Europe's west through Prague, Bratislava, Warsaw and Bucharest to Vilnius and Kiev in the post-communist east. The result is a shimmering literary examination of the ghost of communism - no longer Marx's 'spectre to come' but a haunting presence of the past. Marci Shore builds her history around people she came to know over the course of the two decades since communism came to an end in Eastern Europe: her colleagues and friends, once-communists and once-dissidents, the accusers and the accused, the interrogators and the interrogated, Zionists, Bundists, Stalinists and their children and grandchildren. For them, the post-communist moment has not closed but rather has summoned up the past: revolution in 1968, Stalinism, the Second World War, the Holocaust. The end of communism had a dark side. As Shore pulls the reader into her journey of discovery, reading the archival records of people who are themselves confronting the traumas of former lives, she reveals the intertwining of the personal and the political, of love and cruelty, of intimacy and betrayal. The result is a lyrical and sometimes heartbreaking portrayal of how history moves and what history means.


Συγγραφέας/εις: Shore Marci
ISBN: 9780434022304
Ημερ/νία έκδοσης: 07/02/2013
Εκδότης: Cornerstone
Εξώφυλλο: Hardback
Σελίδες: 384
Τόπος έκδοσης: London
Χώρα έκδοσης: United Kingdom
Βάρος βιβλίου: 699 gr
Διαστάσεις βιβλίου: 24x4x16 cm
Ημερομηνία πρώτης έκδοσης: 2013

εναλλακτικά δες...

συνδύασέ το με...

υπηρεσίες πριν και μετά την αγορά!