# 0994114

Earnest Enquirers After Truth

A Gifford Anthology: excerpts from Gifford Lectures 1888-1968

Συγγραφέας: Jones Bernard E
Εκδότης: Taylor & Francis Ltd
ISBN: 9780415694964
Σειρά βιβλίου: Routledge Revivals
Αριθμός Σελίδων: 220
Έτος Έκδοσης: 2012

Σύνοψη του βιβλίου "Earnest Enquirers After Truth"

First published in 1970, Bernard E. Jones's selection of Gifford lectures includes excerpts from the writings of over ninety scholars who occupied a Gifford Chair between 1888 and 1968. Lord Gifford had asked his lecturers to be 'honest to God', insisting that they should be 'earnest enquirers after truth' and had always envisaged the lectures being published. Dr Jones's anthology is arranged under headings suggested by phrases from Lord Gifford's will. The selection, which includes names such as William James, A.N. Whitehead, Temple, Barth, Brunner, Bultmann, Niebuhr and Tillich, was made in such a way that the reader would be able to really grasp what natural theology is about. Bernard Ewart Jones served as a Methodist minister, before being appointed to the Lewins Chair of Philosophy at his old college, Hartley Victoria, Manchester. He was awarded a doctorate by the University of Leeds in 1966 for his thesis on 'The Concept of Natural Theology in Gifford Lectures'.

Συγγραφέας/εις: Jones Bernard E
Κατηγορία: θρησκεία
Σειρά βιβλίου: Routledge Revivals
ISBN: 9780415694964
Ημερ/νία έκδοσης: 19/11/2012
Εκδότης: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Εξώφυλλο: Paperback / softback
Σελίδες: 220
Τόπος έκδοσης: London
Χώρα έκδοσης: United Kingdom
Βάρος βιβλίου: 454 gr


1.Lord Gifford 2. Natural Theology in the Widest Sense 3. Man's Conceptions of God 4. The Knowledge of God 5. True and Felt Knowledge 6. The Limitation of God? 7. Promoting and Advancing the True Knowledge of God 8. Just as Astronomy or Chemistry 9. So-called Miraculous Revelation 10. Obligations and Duties 11. Life Everlasting 12. Earnest Enquirers after Truth

εναλλακτικά δες...

συνδύασέ το με...

υπηρεσίες πριν και μετά την αγορά!